Passer Rating Calculator



Passing Yards:



Passer Rating:

Completion %:

Touchdown %:

Interception %:

About Passer Rating

The current passer rating used by the NFL was created in the early 1970's and officially adopted by the NFL in 1973. The passer rating algorithm was created by a special study committee headed by Don Smith of the Pro Football Hall of Fame, Seymour Siwoff of Elias Sports Burea, and Don Weiss of the the NFL.

Four categories are used as a basis for compiling a rating: Percentage of completions per attempt, average yards gained per attempt, percentage of touchdown passes per attempt, and percentage of interceptions per attempt. These four categories are used to create four variables used in the final calulation:

  • Catgeory 1 = (Completions / Attempts - .3) * 5
  • Category 2 = (Yards/Attempt -3) * .25
  • Category 3 = (Touchdowns / Attempt) x 20
  • Category 4 = 2.375 - (Interceptions / Attempt * 25)

The minimum point value for each category is 0.0 and the maximum value is 2.375. The sum of the four categories is divided by 6 and then multiplied by 100 to make the resulting number more understandable.

The creators of the passer rating intended a greater than 100 rating to considered to be "superior," and a 67 rating to be "average." 158.3 is considered "perfect" and is the highest achievable rating.

As of the end of the 2019 NFL season, Aaron Rodgers of the Green Bay Packers holds the single season record for highest passer rating at 122.5 in 2011. Peyton Manning has the 2nd highest single season passer rating of 121.1 with Indianapolis in 2004.